Popsations

PopsationsPopsations sent me a box that contained a four-pack of their gourmet caramel popcorn flavors — Classic Caramel, White Chocolate Caramel Drizzle, Milk Chocolate Caramel Drizzle, and Dark Chocolate Caramel Drizzle. Each bag was sealed, but difficult to reseal after opening.

If you’d read any of my previous reviews then you know how much I love caramel popcorn and Popsations has a pretty basic recipe. The taste wasn’t a strong buttery caramel flavor, but one that reminded me of the caramel popcorn I used to get at the Orioles game when I was a kid. However, the Classic Caramel flavor by itself was better than any of the drizzled flavors. I’m just not that big of a fan when it comes to drizzled popcorn, but I did consume a lot of the popcorn in each bag. I liked the Milk Chocolate Caramel Drizzle more than the Dark and White flavors, but for the most part they all could have used more salt and better ingredients. And, overall they were just not very flavorful.

This is where I’m going to address the ingredients in what everyone calls “gourmet popcorn.” My definition of gourmet popcorn is when someone takes some freshly popped popcorn and transforms it into something very special. You may think a lot of ingredients are needed, but some of the best gourmet popcorn I’ve tasted has less than ten ingredients. If you truly want to create gourmet popcorn then you need to use the best possible ingredients that you can find. Even the kind of salt you use will make a big difference in the taste.

This entry was posted in Popcorn Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

